“You just have to get started.”

So I thought this photo was very fitting for the topic I was planning on discussing. No I didn’t go to Harvard Law School haha. My brother came up to visit me while I was living in Boston with my cousin and friend during Memorial Day Weekend back in 2015. We were Harvard Graduate Wannabes haha and took plenty of pictures around the beautiful campus. It was definitely a fun weekend.

10402809_795993151705_2578707142554045095_n

Today I came across an article about Mark Zuckerberg giving the commencement speech at Harvard years after dropping out and creating Facebook. It definitely grabbed my attention as most of us know the story behind Mr. Zuckerberg’s success. They created a movie about it if you don’t know haha. I was curious to read further about his story and inspirational advice he would give to the class of 2017. He himself, years later, received a Doctorate of Laws from Harvard that day.

There were definitely a few things that Mark Zuckerberg said during his speech that really stuck with me today and I thought I would share and provide some motivation to the rest of this short work week. Zuckerberg talks about the meaning of purpose throughout his speech. He says, “Purpose is that sense that we are part of something bigger than ourselves, that we are needed, that we have something better ahead to work for. Purpose is what creates true happiness.” We are in a world that promotes an entrepreneurial culture and the want and need of having a solid purpose in life. He goes on to say, “But it’s not enough to have purpose yourself. You have to create a sense of purpose for others.” Making an impact and giving back to others is very important. Whether it’s volunteering your time or donating and fundraising for charities. That can be your purpose or your big impact in life. Purpose is not just about making money.

Another line that stuck with me from Zuckerberg’s commencement speech was, “Ideas don’t come out fully formed. They only become clear as you work on them. You just have to get started.” So many people are afraid to fail and that is what keeps them stagnant and nothing new every gets experimented with. I recently read a quote from Paul Coelho. He writes, “There is only one thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve: the fear of failure.” I will admit, I have that fear of failing. I consider myself a perfectionist. It is definitely a weakness of mine that I’m trying to overcome. I’ve slowly learned that in order to get where you want to be, you need to take risks and push yourself out of your comfort zone. Otherwise, your goals will amount to nothing. I’ve been told you need to learn to walk the talk. No more talking and more doing. Eventually, I pushed myself to gradually start doing and I must say, it feels great! The feeling of moving forward and progressing towards your goals is an already great sense of accomplishment.

Lastly, I’ll leave you with another inspiring quote from Mark Zuckerberg. “Let’s do big things, not only to create progress, but to create purpose.” Purpose full of meaningful projects, giving back to others, and building a community. Let’s motivate ourselves to be the best we can be this week!

If you are interested in reading more on Mark Zuckerberg’s commencement speech, please visit the link below.

http://news.harvard.edu/gazette/story/2017/05/mark-zuckerbergs-speech-as-written-for-harvards-class-of-2017/

Leave a Reply

